Cultural Assimilation via Global Emulation

I wondered what had happened to the people of my ancestry and for a while I think I fell into a commiserating depression. This was not what I had expected from the land of my roots. Where had the culture gone? All I saw was poverty and people emulating what they saw on American television.
41mhuzDpnwL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About cassidyclay1

I am one of those people that vacations outside of tourist destinations in order to get a real feel for what an area is like beyond the polished lies they plaster all over tourism guides. I am also one of those people that considers a “vacation” to be something that is a minimum of three months long and that sometimes stretches to years. I enjoy getting to know the real people (usually). I entrench myself in a society. I learn how they cook their foods, their customs, their peeves, their ways of being, and most of all – I learn their secrets and how they really live when no one is looking.

11 responses to “Cultural Assimilation via Global Emulation”

  1. swabby429 says :

    I had a similar experience during my first visit to London. My host treated me to lunch at his neighborhood’s Pizza Hut. Luckily my host couldn’t hide his ancestral Norfolk roots for very long.

    Like

    • cassidyclay1 says :

      At least it was Pizza Hut. In an attempt to cater to my Americanism, a new friend first attempted to bring me to McDonalds. I finally managed to talk him down to eating at Subway…not perfect, but still an improvement.

      Like

  2. nowstuffnow says :

    That:s a bloody shame mate. They fought the war against Hitler, & lost the war against Marxist degeneration.

    Like

  3. 24/7 in France says :

    Travel is the one thing we pay for that makes us richer, unless we stay in a tourist comfort zone! Merci for visiting & following my blog.

    Like

  4. laurieanichols says :

    Thanks for the follow! You have a fascinating blog 🙂

    Like

  5. griffithlighton says :

    insightful, humorous, informative….

    So you notice that as the world gets smaller the fully assumed risk gets di-visibly larger. Consider the probable consequences…is the WalMart happy face really the picutre of The Scream?

    Like

  6. psychologistmimi says :

    interesting post!

    Like

  7. scskillman says :

    Thank you for following my blog, Cassidy. I’ve had a look at your book and your sharp observations of the seamy side of English life (esp the council estates and the kind of behaviour they encourage) are very readable. As an English person who was born and brought up in south east London, I do recognize many of the things you describe. But remember this is just one seedy aspect of life in our society. I have written several blog posts on England and London. Here’s a link to one which acknowledges the stressful, negative sides to the city but shows my view of London – I know it well, have strong family associations with London, lived and worked in central London for 8 years, and still visit it regularly: http://scskillman.com/tag/heavenly-city/

    Like

  8. Raxa Collective says :

    Hi Cassidy, thanks for introducing yourself by following our site, we look forward to exploring yours. We can identify with the desire for authentic travel experiences, so we support you in your search. If you’re on facebook we invite you to visit the RAXA Collective page to see what we’re up to on that score. See you there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

